Healthy snacks for the breastfeeding and the non-breastfeeding 

It may seem weird that I’m posting about breastfeeding tips as my little one is almost one and pretty much weaning himself off of breastfeeding, but it’s never too late, right? Plus some of these recipes can carry me over even when I’m done nursing and wanting a healthy snack. 

I find myself needing these tips because the more he eats regular food, the less milk I seem to be producing. He mostly nurses at nap time and at night but I still have to pump for when my mom watches him. And maybe it’s my stress about pumping and nursing that’s slowing my flow but I find these tips really help and felt the need to pass it along. 

I’m starting to work out more and gearing up to go back to part time work, so as I said before some of these are perfect healthy snacks for anyone.

Lactation Smoothie

1 banana

1 cup of milk or almond milk

1/3 cup of rolled oats 

2 tbsp honey

1 tbsp peanut butter

1 tbsp brewer’s yeast

1 tbsp flax

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp cinnamon

{To make it a non-lactation smoothie, take out the brewer’s yeast. I mix it up and add strawberries and other fruit to it and omit the peanut butter and cinnamon. It’s really good!}

Lactation Cookies 

{I used the same recipe that I posted about previously}

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp. flaxseed meal 
4 Tbsp. water

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

2 cups all purpose flour 

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

3 Tbsp. Brewer’s Yeast 

3 cups quick oats

1 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375ºF. 
2. Mix together the flaxseed and water and let sit for 5 minutes.
3. Meanwhile, cream together the butter and sugars.
4. Add eggs one at a time and mix well.
5. Add flaxseed mix and vanilla.
6. In a medium bowl, combine together flour, baking soda, salt, Brewer’s Yeast, and oats.
7. Add to the butter mixture 1/2 cup at a time.
8. Once the dough is mixed together well, add chocolate chips.
9. Bake for 9-11 minutes.


Overnight Oats
1/2 cup of rolled oats

1/2 cup of milk, yogurt or kefir {whatever you want}

☝🏽That’s the base and you can add fruit or whatever you like from there. Mix the oats and the milk together and let sit in the refrigerator overnight. In the morning, mix in whatever you like. Berries, apples, nuts, etc. Here’s a good link to check out: Overnight oats recipes

Some other tips for increasing your supply are things you should be doing anyway:

  • Drink lots of water 80-100 ounces. Just drink water as much as you can. 
  • Make sure you’re eating enough small meals throughout the day. 
  • Some healthy snack options: bananas, granola bars, Greek yogurt, trail mix, cottage cheese, pretzels, nut butters, fruit

Now for those that are breastfeeding the above works for you as well as these:

  • Pump!
  • Try the recipes in this post! 
  • Try some foods that boost your supply- asparagus, oatmeal, quinoa, fennel, flax, whole grains, berries, tomatoes, spinach, carrots, milk, cheese, chicken

I have to admit I’m a little late on trying these tips. Like I mentioned before, my son is almost 1 but this would have been a lot more helpful had I done these things from the beginning. So I’m passing this on to those who may need it! 😉

Leave a Reply

