Calorie Counting and Workout Plans

Now that life is starting to fall into a routine, it’s time for me to try to get back to my pre-baby and even pre-wedding self.

My go-to for calorie counting is an old favorite: My Fitness Pal (free app on most smartphones, www.myfitnesspal.com). What I like most about it is the fact that you can scan any food item that you eat and it shows up. It takes the hassle out of trying to calculate calories and servings or searching for food online. You can also link it to different devices like your FitBit or other tracking devices.

myfitnesspal

For keeping myself accountable daily, that award goes to my FitBit Blaze (fitbit.com). I got it for my birthday to replace my Nike Fuelbit and I love it. It keeps track of how many hours of sleep you get, which was amazing to know being a new mom and trying to figure out a sleep pattern with a newborn. It keeps track of how much water you drink, which is also useful considering I’m nursing and need to stay hydrated. And aside from tracking basic exercise, it also tracks whether or not you are walking at least 250+ steps every hour. That helps me stay active since I’m at home with the baby and it’s easy to lay down with him or sit with him for hours and not realize it.

fitbit

Ok, so I’m going to let you all in on a trade secret. 3 words. Nike Training Club (free app on most smartphones). This app is awesome and I use it a lot for my training sessions with clients as well. Sometimes it’s hard to motivate yourself to workout even if you are a “professional”. The good thing about this app is that it gives you 4 week plan if you want. Just getting back into m workout game, this is perfect for me. I can let the app do the planning and I can add or substitute as needed. The workouts are beginner, intermediate and advanced and you can do no equipment if you’re working out at home, basic dumbbells and home equipment or a gym setting. It’s foolproof with videos to help those that need it.

nike

 

With the help of these 3 I’m hopeful that it will be no time before I’m back to my old self. It’s a lot harder to bounce back after having a baby and I’m here to tell you that it takes time. It took 9+ months to gain it and it’s not going away over night without a little extra work. Stay strong if you’re struggling, because you’re not alone.

Nola Fit Chick

XOXO

 

Leave a Reply

