Pre-eclampsia, Motherhood & Fitness: How I’m Managing It All

It’s been 3 months since my last post and to say a lot has happened is an understatement. On my last doctor appointment, 9 days before my due date back in August (4 days after my last post), I was told that I had pre-eclampsia and would have to go in to deliver my baby. I was shocked and terrified. I wasn’t ready! I had a nail appointment to get to! I had errands to run and the baby’s room to finish! I was so confused as to how I got pre-eclampsia. The doctors couldn’t tell me how I got it either. It happens in healthy women some of whom never have had high blood pressure such as myself. No one could tell me if I would get it again if I were to have another baby. It was all very bizarre. Well, since I had no intention of having my baby that day (and neither did my baby have any intention of arriving early) it took almost 3 days to deliver. Once I left the hospital, I had to go right back because my newborn had developed jaundice and I was in yet another hospital for another 4 days, all with pneumonia and swollen legs and feet. I was stressed beyond belief but after a couple weeks getting back to myself, I was able to finally enjoy motherhood and my new baby that I waited so long to meet.

These past 3 months have been challenging: getting used to breastfeeding, getting used to this new post-baby body, no sleep, feeling overwhelmed. Every time I look at his face and he smiles at me, everything that happened fades away and makes it all worthwhile.

The best part is that now that I feel back to normal and I’m not going back to work for awhile, I can workout and focus on getting my body back to it’s pre-baby condition.

rehearsal

Me and my husband Travis at our wedding rehearsal a month and a half before I got pregnant

 

Sometimes I walk on the treadmill with him in my baby carrier. Sometimes we go to the park. If I really want a more intense workout (well intense for me now), my mom will watch him for me so I can take my time. Right now, I’m mostly walking at different inclines and speeds and 3 weeks ago I started to incorporate light weights and strength training. It’s still an ongoing battle because I’m still feeling really tired but I’ve gone from 2-3 hours of sleep a night to 8-9 hours (not all at once) which is making my days better. The workouts help out with my energy level for the rest of the day as well.

me-and-baby-on-treadmill

Me at 6 weeks post partum. Little Travis is fast asleep!!

 

I went from being 222lbs at delivery (the most I’ve ever weighed in my whole life!) to 182lbs now. It’s been a struggle but making sure I eat enough calories to continue breastfeeding my baby as well as exercising at least 3 days a week if not more is my first step!

The above pictures are for educational purposes only! I normally would never show these but I figure it can give someone hope. 🙂 The left picture is at 6 weeks post partum and the right one was last week at 11 weeks post partum.

Let me know how you did after giving birth and what worked for you.

Stay healthy,

Nola Fit Chick

xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

