I’m With The Band!

Technology has come a long way and so has fitness. With the two combined, it’s almost impossible to not be held accountable to your workouts or at the very least staying moderately active. But it can be done! Just today, I realized I hadn’t worn my Nike FuelBand in over 4 months! Not a good look. I figured since I’m pregnant and not doing my normal workouts, why bother? Well, I should have been using it my whole pregnancy because on those days where I don’t feel like doing anything, it would have reminded me to get up and get moving, for at least a few minutes anyway.

So if you’ve been on the fence about whether or not it’s worth your money, I’m here to tell you it is. No matter what fitness level you may be, a beginner that just wants to track their steps, someone who likes to be told to get up and get moving throughout the day as a remind or the advanced workout aficionado that sets and tries to beat past goals, an activity band can only help your fitness needs.

I personally have a Nike FuelBand because I got a good deal on one at the Nike outlet but there are several on the market to chose from. I know a lot of people who have the Fitbit and the Garmin but there’s also the Jawbone (which I know nothing about!) and the Apple watch. And those are just the ones I’ve heard of. Do some research and see which one is the best fit for you.

The FuelBand was awesome when I first got it because it connected to a bunch of other fitness apps on my phone such as My Fitness Pal (which totally saved me when I was getting in shape for my wedding), the Nike Training app, Nike running app and more. It kept track of my steps, calories and what Nike calls “fuel”. The “fuel” is their universal metric of tracking activity that is the same for everyone regardless of age, gender, or weight. The more you move, the more fuel points you get. You can surpass your goal set, or up it or lower it depending on what you want. For me, this was my only con to the FuelBand. What do I care about fuel points?? I want to know how many calories I’m losing per workout session. The only thing it told me during my sessions was how long I worked out for, how many fuel points I would receive and how many fuel points per minute I acquired. I started to want more. Now I’m sure there are more advanced ones on the market but at the time, it served it’s purpose and I will continue to use it until after my pregnancy when I’ll get back to my normal workout routine and then I’ll want to step it up a bit.

The one that I might try next is the newest Fitbit. The Fitbit Blaze retails for $199.95 (but I’m sure you can find it at Walmart or Target or even online for cheaper) and has features such as touchscreen, calories burned, heart rate, on screen workouts, GPS, call, texts, and calendar alerts as well as sleep control, just to name a few. If these are things you want to know about and track then this might be the one for you. I’m not super high-tech but I’m a step up from the basics. There are so many more to choose from and some that might be better than the 2 I described. It all depends on the individual.

As far as using one for pregnancy, why not? If you’re not on bed rest and you’re having a normal pregnancy, a fitness tracker is perfect to keep you motivated to stay active so you can continue to stay healthy. Adjust it to your comfort level and remember that you are carrying added weight and another human being so don’t over do it!

**Fitbit Blaze                                      **Nike FuelBand

I would love to hear your thoughts on fitness trackers!

Be Well!

XOXO

Leave a Reply

