A work in progress…

This title seems to be the story of my life! I used to think of myself as a very active person. I bought a Nike fuelband and was always counting my steps and logging my sessions. I’m a personal trainer for goodness sake….among other things. I’m always working and always have a million side jobs. That’s how I’ve always been. But ever since I found out I was pregnant, I’ve been so extremely exhausted that I lack the energy to even get dressed sometimes! I’ve slowed down on work and life in general.

But I’m back! So as I find my strength at 12 weeks now, my motivation gets clearer. I need to continue to stay healthy for my baby and to show my clients that I practice what I preach. So I’m starting back slowly. I have a small home gym, nothing fancy but I told myself that I need to get back into my cardio the less I work and am on my feet. So Monday I started out with 30 minutes of walking at 3.0 mph. Slow for me but maybe not for everyone. It didn’t matter. I did something and I felt better. So I will take each day as it comes.

As far as my eating habits are concerned, well I’m always hungry! But that’s to be expected. I’m carrying another person along for the ride. So instead of eating everything in sight I’m focusing on healthy snacks. Here’s one that I found at my local Sam’s Club:

IMG_1341

I also am trying to make more smoothies since it’s a fast and easy way to get in fruits and veggies on the go. Plus it helps that we got a Nutribullet for a wedding present! I bought some frozen fruit from Sam’s (whatever you prefer mixed fruit, strawberries, blueberries,etc.) and mix 2% or almond milk, a banana and a scoop of vanilla protein powder. Something basic since I’m not trying to bulk up or anything! This is the one that I use:

IMG_1342

However before I was preggo, I used a powdered green  superfood from my local Whole Foods Market along with fruits and almond milk. I only stopped because the taste didn’t agree with me and I guess the baby!

Stay with me as I continue on my path to wellness and staying fit during my pregnancy as well as trying to be a first time blogger and learning how to maneuver this site!

Be Well,

XOXO

Leave a Reply

